AIM25 : Click here to go back to the AIM25 homepage
Archives in London and the M25 area

Donizetti, Gaetano

Identity Statement

Reference code(s): GB 0096 SLV 84
Held at: Senate House Library, University of London
  Click here to find out how to view this collection at ›
Full title: Donizetti, Gaetano
Date(s): c1825-1845
Level of description: Collection (fonds)
Extent: 1 volume
Name of creator(s): Donizetti | Gaetano | 1797-1848 | operatic composer
Detailed catalogue: Click here to view repository detailed catalogue


Administrative/Biographical history:

Gaetano Donizetti was born on 29 November 1797 in Bergamo, modern day Italy. His first successful opera was Enrico di Borgogia, which appeared in Venice in 1818. Between 1818-1830 Donizetti composed 33 operas. Donizetti also composed operas in Paris and Vienna. In 1842 Emperor Ferdinand I appointed Donizetti the official composer to the Emperor. Donizetti's most important works include, Anna Bolena 1830, Lucia di Lammermoor 1835 and The Elixir of Love 1832. He died in Bergamo on 8 April 1848.


Scope and content/abstract:

A manuscript fair copy of the opera Gabriella Di Vergy, c 1825-1845, with passages written in the hand of the composer, Gaetano Donizetti.

Access & Use

Language/scripts of material:

System of arrangement:

Conditions governing access:

Access to the items in the collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the controlled environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Access to archive collections may be restricted under the Freedom of Information Act. Please contact the University Archivist for details.

Conditions governing reproduction:

Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.

Finding aids:

University of London Library, The Sterling library: a catalogue of the printed books and literary manuscripts collected by Sir Louis Sterling and presented by him to the University of London, Cambridge, (1954).

Archival Information

Archival history:

Immediate source of acquisition:

Allied Materials

Related material:

The British Library holds a copy of Larghetto and Allegro for string quartet (Ref: Zweig MS33).

National Register of Archives: Click here to view NRA record

Publication note:

Description Notes

Archivist's note:

Rules or conventions:

Date(s) of descriptions:
1999-07-29 Simon McKeon, 2000-05-22 Sarah Smith

Related Subject Search

* To search for other records with similar subjects, tick any subjects above then click "Run New Search"

Related Personal Name Search

* To search for other records with similar names, tick any names above then click "Run New Search"