AIM25 : Click here to go back to the AIM25 homepage
Archives in London and the M25 area

Institute of Psychiatry, portraits of psychiatrists

Identity Statement

Reference code(s): GB 0100 KCLCA IOP/PH/1
Held at: King's College London College Archives
  Click here to find out how to view this collection at ›
Full title: Institute of Psychiatry, portraits of psychiatrists
Date(s): [1923]-1980
Level of description: Collection (fonds)
Extent: 87 photographs
Name of creator(s): Institute of Psychiatry


Administrative/Biographical history:

Photographs displayed on the walls in a corridor at the Institute of Psychiatry. They were taken down when the Neurology Building in Windsor Walk was opened in 1980.


Scope and content/abstract:

Portraits: cheifly photographs, some engravings, of distinguished psychiatrists including from the Institute of Psychiatry, including Clemens E. Benda (1898-1975), Clinical director of MIT; Robert Foster Kennedy (1884-1952), British-American neurologist; Jean Paul Friedrich Richter (1763-1825), German romantic author; Carl (or Karl) Wernicke (1848-1905), German neurologist and psychiatrist; Sir Frederick Mott, founding clinical director of the Maudsley Hospital and the Institute of Psychiatry; Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832); Frederick Lucien Golla, first professor at the Institute of Psychiatry; Sir Henry Maudsley, founder of Maudsley hospital and the Maudsley Training School, (now the Institute of Psychiatry); Thomas Laycock (1812-1876); Theodor Hermann Meynert, (1833-1892), Director of the first Psychiatric Clinic Vienna and pioneer of interdisciplinary work on brain research; Ernest-Charles Lasegue (1809-1883) psychiatrist specialising in persecution mania and hysteria; Sergei Sergeievich Korsakov (1854-1900), Russian neuropsychiatrist; Julius Wagner-Jauregg (1857-1940), first Nobel prize-winner in psychiatry; Bernhard von Gudden (1824-1886), German neuroanatomist; Sigmund Freud (1856-1939); August Forel, (1848-1931), Swiss neuroanatomist and psychiatrist; Jean-Martin Charcot (1825-1893), French neurologist; Otto Binswanger (1852-1929), Swiss psychiatrist and neurologist; Lucio Bini (1908-1964), Italian psychiatrist; Joseph Jules Francois Felix Babinski (1857-1932), French neurologist, pupil of Charcot; Antonio Austregesilo (1876-1960), founder of Brazilian neurology and psychiatry; Octave Landry de Thezillat (1826-1865) and his wife, Madam Claire Giustigniani Landry (1832-1901); Jules Gabriel Francois Baillarger (1815-1890), French neurologist; Leonardo Bianchi (1848-1927), Italian neurologist; Desire Magloire Bourneville (1840-1909), French disciple of Charcot; Anton von Braunmuhl; C. Charles Burlingame (1885-1950), American psychiatrist; Feruccio Busoni, composer of "The King of Forensic Psychiatry" dedicated to John Gunn; Sir Hugh Cairns (1896-1952) Professor of Neurosurgery at Oxford; Jean-Martin Charcot (1825-1893), French neurologist; Stanley Cobb (1887-1968), American psychiatrist and neurologist; Amarro Fiamberti, Italian psychiatrist; Walter Freeman (1895-1972), led the national American campaign for lobotomy; Egas Monitz, Nobel prize-winner, 1949; Kurt Goldstein (1878-1965) German-Jewish neurologist; Paul Hoch (1902-1964), American psychiatrist; Sir Gordon Holmes (1876-1965), English neurologist and neurosurgeon; Karl Kleist, (1879-1960), German neurologist; Alexis Yakovlievich Kozhevnikov (1836-1902), Russian neurologist; E Charles Lasegue (1809-1883); Albert Pitres (1848-1928); James Jackson Putnam (1846-1918), American neurologist; Paul Ferdinand Schilder (1886-1940), Austrian neurologist; Sir Charles Sherrington (1861-1952), English neurophysiologist; Henri Verger (1873-1930), French neurologist; Sir Francis Walshe, British neurologist; Franz Nissl (1860-1919), German neuropathologist; August Homburger, pioneer child psychiatrist; James Braid (1795-1860); John Elliotson (1791-1868); Alexander Morison (1779-1866), Physician to the Bethlem Hospital and Physiognomist; Sir William Gull (1816-1890); John Alderson (1757-1829), President of the Literary & Philosophical Society; Edward Monro, Physician to the Bethlem Hospital; William Laurence; Forbes Winslow; A.I. Sutherland; Samuel Hitch (1800-1881), Physician to Gloucester asylum; Johann Spurzheim (1776-1832), Professor of Phrenology; George Man Burrows (1771-1846), Chairman of the Association of Apothecaries and Surgeon-Apothecaries and Sir Aubrey Lewis, Medical director of the Maudsley Hospital and post-war founding professor of the Institute of Psychiatry.

Access & Use

Language/scripts of material:

System of arrangement:

Awaiting arrangement.

Conditions governing access:

Open. Visitors are required to provide proof of ID and sign an undertaking form.

Conditions governing reproduction:

Conditions governing reproduction: Copies, subject to the condition of the original, may be provided for research use only. Requests to publish original material should be submitted to the Director of Archive Services and Information Management, King's College London.

Finding aids:

No additional finding aids.

Archival Information

Archival history:

Immediate source of acquisition:

Received from the Institute of Psychiatry, Jun 2007.

Allied Materials

Related material:

Publication note:

Description Notes

Archivist's note:
Entry compiled by Sarah Drewery.

Rules or conventions:
Compiled in compliance with General International Standard Archival Description, ISAD(G), second edition, 2000; National Council on Archives Rules for the Construction of Personal, Place and Corporate Names, 1997.

Date(s) of descriptions:
Feb 2008

Related Subject Search

* To search for other records with similar subjects, tick any subjects above then click "Run New Search"

Related Personal Name Search

* To search for other records with similar names, tick any names above then click "Run New Search"

Related Corporate Name Search

* To search for other records with similar names, tick any names above then click "Run New Search"